Timonium Motorcycle Show 

To start with, this was my first motorcycle show and I was not impressed. This show billed itself as the largest show on the east coast and having all of the new 2017 models. Being a couple weeks after IMS, those were some big claims to make. The Timonium Motorcycle Show met neither. 

I had two main expectations/goals; firstly,  I wanted to check out adventure helmets and boots. Second, I really hoped to check out the new KTM 1090 and 1290 Adventure bikes. In addition to the boasts above, the show promotion also advertised a focus on adventure motorcycling so I thought these were reasonable. As with the show’s two main claims, it failed to satisfy both. 

Here’s what it did actually have:

  • Camper trailers (my kid loved this actually)
  • An entire Harley Davidson dealership 
  • Most of Pete’s Cycle’s leftover new inventory
  • Several custom leather and/or thong underwear vendors 
  • Several booths advertising the smallest DOT approved helmets
  • A KTM dealer that wasn’t interested in talking to a guy in a Honda hoodie
  • 2017 models: Kawasaki Z650, Triumph Bobber, Triumph Street Cup (you were not allowed to sit on any of those), and a Suzuki Van Van
  • A large selection of work boots 
  • Bob’s BMW had a variety of current models with common sense modifications and a sales rep who didn’t think he needed rain gear that morning (he did) 
  • Several adventure motorcycle travel agencies
  • Sena had a booth (also not interested in speaking with me) 
  • J&P Cycle’s variety of chrome and speaker filled items 
  • Polaris Slingshots (why?) 
  • Austin Vince, Lois Pryce, and several other adventure riders (high point) 
  • Some kind of motorcycle show with entries scattered all over the place. I didn’t know how or if I was able to vote. 
  • Ample parking 

    Austin Vince was very cool, gave my son a balloon motorcycle and gave me a pin. I later caught his presentation, which had more nudity than expected, and purchased copies of Mondo Enduro and Mondo Sahara. His presentation mostly focused on the how accessible adventure motorcycling can be and how safe it actually is despite the haters who live in the zip code they were born in. 

    Photos:

    Bob’s personal R nineT
    R nineT Scrambler with RSD bits.
    I don’t know what this I, but I’d ride it.
    2017 Triumph Street Cup
    2017 Triumph Bobber
    2017 Suzuki Van Van hidden in a row of other bikes.
    Austin Vince
    Austin Vince, extra flattering edition
    I like the paint on this bagger and appreciate that it doesn’t have a 30″ front wheel.

    The jockey shift on this Triumph is an actual chunk of coal.

    The paint on this tank was about a mile deep. Photo does not do it justice.
    I sat on this R nineT and really liked it.
    2017 Kawasaki Z650 detail
    2017 Kawasaki Z650
    Leave a Reply

    